Primarch Commisions – Lorgar & Ferrus Manus

20140312-002651.jpg

The world of Pre and Heresy Era gaming has exploded since the guys over at Forge World started producing gorgeous resin models of not only Heresy Era troops but Primarchs as well! They have currently got the models out for Angron – Primarch of the World Eaters, Fulgrim – Primarch of the Emperor’s Children, Lorgar – Primarch of the Word Bearers and Ferrus Manus – Primarch of the Iron Hands. It is the later two that I have had the privilege to paint as commission pieces.

I can honestly say that these were some of the finest models I have had the pleasure to paint, the sculpts are lovely and capture great amounts of atmosphere and really bring the characters to life!

First up is Ferrus Manus – Primarch of the Iron Hands……

20140312-001132.jpg

This was always going to be a difficult one as the predominate colour is black, especially as the customer requested the dead marines be Iron Hands. I think I have broken the black up with the use of red on the weapon casings and the green glow of the plasma coil. Black is also a difficult one to capturer well but I feel happy with the finished piece and the client is EXTREMELY pleased!

Last up is my favourite of the two models, Lorgar – Primarch of the Word Bearers……

20140312-001608.jpg

Such a subtle stance and wonderful details in the face really bring the character to life…caged power! The Client wanted grey armour and flesh face and I have added regal red to the cape and piping, the new colour of his legion’s armour. I adored painting this model and was so pleases with the overall finish that I didn’t want to hand it over (one of the downsides to being a commission painter).

I really hope you like my work! Let me know which is your favourite.

SCORPIUS GLC OUT FOR NOW!

Leave a Reply

